1-2-3 Bow Headband

The 1-2-3 Bow Headband is made using 1 ball of yarn, 2 stitches, and is constructed with 3 pieces. I love this headband because it will keep your ears warm on a cold day but it doesn’t sacrifice style for warmth. It’s cute without appearing to be too young although I do think it’s a great accessory for adults and children alike.

joan_bow

I think headbands are going to be the go-to accessory this winter. Last year I saw more headband styles available at retail stores than I had in past years. I think this year we’ll see even more. If you’re a crocheter/DIY-er, save your money and try making your own. You’ll get an equivalent look but have the option to customize colour and size. Also, the one-size-fits-all sizing that many stores offer for headbands doesn’t really work for me. I purchased a nice forest green headband with a flower that started out a bit too large and eventually stretched to the point that it wouldn’t stay snug on my head.

The pattern is easily adjustable to suit the size of the band and also to adjust the size of the bow. For a bolder look I’d recommend going with an oversized bow but if you’d like a more subtle accent on the headband, use the recommended size or even smaller. The nice thing about this design is that the bow is secured using a chain and therefore can be removed easily and swapped out for a different bow depending on the look you are going for and you won’t have to make a new band.

You may want to try mixing up colours and use a different colour for the bow and for the headband.

headband_keiko_front

I made the headband pictured in one hour. I’m always looking for gift ideas for friends that will actually get some wear and I think this is going to be one I’ll use quite often, considering it takes such little time and material to make.

I used a Knit Picks 100% Premium Acrylic bulky yarn as I figure the headband might be battling the elements this winter and I want to be able to toss it in the laundry and not worry about hand-washing it. I’d suggest leaving it to air dry or towel dry as I am not convinced it won’t shrink.

headband_back

I have a Facebook page where I’d love to see the colour combinations and varieties of this headband that you come up with. You can post your photos to the page here: grannysquaredontcare on Facebook

Here’s the pattern for you to try:

Materials:

  • 1 ball of Bulky Acrylic Yarn (approx. 136 yards)
  • 5.5 mm crochet hook
  • Yarn needle

Instructions:

Piece #1: Making the band

Step 1: Ch 15. Single crochet in each stitch to the end.

Step 2: Ch 1. *Single crochet and double crochet in the chain closest to hook. Skip 1 stitch. Repeat from * across, ending with a single crochet in the last stitch. Turn.

Repeat Step 2 for as many rows as required (based on size of the band). The one pictured is 54 rows including the first row of single and double crochets. Before tying off, leave a long tail to use to sew the ends of the headband together.

When sewing the ends together you obviously want to be as neat as possible but this will be where the bow will be placed so you don’t have to worry too much if you aren’t a great sewer. After you’ve closed the headband, scrunch together the area you just sewed to give a cinched look and begin sewing through to secure this in place. This will only take a few stitches through then tie off.

yarn_needle

Piece #2: Making the bow

Ch 20. Single crochet in each stitch to the end.

Complete Step 2 above x 11 rows. After last row is completed, add a border by slip-stitching a border around.

Cinch the rectangle in the centre, using the yarn needle and the same yarn, sew through the centre to create the bow look.

cinch

Piece #3: The tie

The easiest part of the project. Chain 5, tie off, leaving a tail on both ends for tying around the bow to the band.

tie

Construct it

Place the bow on the band, placed over the cinched part of the band. Place the tie across the bow and tie securely underneath the band, double knotting it to keep it in place. I don’t like sewing the bow to the band for a couple of reasons. One, I want to be able to remove the bow if I want to switch it out for a bigger or smaller bow or for a different colour to change up the look. Two, the tie, although thin, covers up the cinched centre of the bow and gives a cleaner look.

Enjoy!